About MPP

Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP) was founded by a group of cinema critics, writers and scholars on May 1, 1976. It aims to serve as the critics’ voice, bestowing recognition and honors on the stellar films in the Philippines, through the annual Gawad Urian Awards. The founding members were: Behn Cervantes, Pete Daroy, Pio de Castro, Clodualdo “Doy” del Mundo, Gino Dormiendo, Mario Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Manny Pichel, Nicanor Tiongson, and Nestor Torre.

Mahalagang inawin na ang MPP ay binubuo ng mga kritikong may iba’t ibang pananaw at estilo. Bukod sa kanilang opisyal na listahan ng mga pelikulang pinapupurihan, ang MPP ay wala nang iba pang “opisyal na opinyon.” Hindi tinutungkol ng MPP ang pagpapahayag ng nagkakaisang kuru-kuro hinggil sa mga partikular na pelikula. Bawat Manunuri ay may sariling kuru-kuro na bunga ng sarili niyang pandam-dam, isipan, edukasyon at karanasan. Ang tanging nagbubuklod sa kanila ay ang paniniwala na bagaman produkto ng isang industriya ang pelikulang Pilipino, ito ay isa ring sining na maipaglilingkod sa ikayayaman ng pagkatao ng madlang nagbabayad upang panoorin ito. – Bienvenido Lumbera (Unang nalathala sa Sagisag, Agosto 1976.)

It is important to note that the MPP is made up of critics with different views and styles. Apart from their official list of commendable films, the MPP has no other “official opinion.” The MPP does not refer to the expression of a consensus on specific films. Each Critic has his or her own opinions as a result of their own feelings, thoughts, education and experience. The only thing that unites them is the belief that although Filipino film is a product of an industry, it is also an art that can serve to enrich the personality of the audience who pay to watch it. – Bienvenido Lumbera (First published in Sagisag, August 1976.)

The Current MPP Members

Gary Devilles


He also chairs the Filipino Department at Ateneo de Manila University Loyola Schools. He received his Ph.D. in Media Studies from La Trobe University, Australia. His dissertation “City Sense: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Sensing Manila” bagged the 2016 Nancy Millis Award for Exceptional Thesis.

Shirley Lua

Vice Chair

She is associate professor of literature and cultural studies at De La Salle University (DLSU). She is former Director of DLSU Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center. She co-edited the book Direk: Essays on Filipino Filmmakers.

Nicanor Tiongson


He is Professor Emeritus at the UP Film Institute, University of the Philippines. He was awarded the Cultural Center of the Philippines’ Parangal sa Sining at Kultura in 1998. He served as the overall editor of the revised CCP Encyclopedia of Philippine Arts and the editor of the URIAN Anthology series.

Grace Javier Alfonso


She served as Chancellor of the University of the Philippines (UP) Open University in 2007 and was founding chair of the Film and Audiovisual Department of the UP College of Mass Communication. Her columns “Sight and Sounds” appear in Daily Tribune and “Kultura Popular” in Sunday Malaya.

Patrick Campos

He is director of the Film Institute at the Office of Research and Publication of the College of Mass Communication, University of the Philippines. He serves as editor of the journals Humanities Diliman and Plaridel. He is author of The End of National Cinema: Filipino Film at the Turn of Century (2016).

Butch Francisco

He writes a column for Philippine Star. He has hosted TV programs and shows. He was the editor of TV Times, Parade Magazine, and We Forum, among others. He was part of the cast of Tukhang, a crime drama series.

Bienvenido Lumbera

He is National Artist for Literature. His honors and recognition include Ramon Magsaysay Award, Gawad CCP (Cultural Center of the Philippines) para sa Sining, CCP Centennial Honors for the Arts, and SEAWRITE Award. He is Professor Emeritus at the College of Arts and Letters, University of the Philippines.

Miguel Rapatan

He is Professor of Communication at De La Salle University where he also served as head of the Center for Educational Multimedia. He is former chair of the Cinema Committee of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (2007-2013).

Rolando Tolentino

He is Director of the University of the Philippines (UP) Likhaan Institute of Creative Writing and former Dean of the UP College of Mass Communication. He is the Commissioner for the Arts of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA). His corpus of scholarly books and articles deals with Philippine literature, popular culture, cinema and media, interfacing national and transnational issues.

Tito Genova Valiente

He is a public anthropologist and film educator. He is with the Japanese Studies Program of Ateneo de Manila University. He writes a column called “Reeling” for Business Mirror. He is the director of the Institute of Bikol History and Culture at Ateneo de Naga University.


Gary Devilles

Chair, Manunuri ng Peilikulang Pilipino (MPP)
c/o Departamento ng Filipino, Ateneo de Manila University, Loyola Heights, Quezon City, Metro Manila, Philippines

Email manunuripeilikula@gmail.com

Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (Gawad Urian)

Back to Home